Evaluation

Upon completing the posts about my online media use it began to make me feel aware of how much my life revolves around online media. There almost wasn’t a second when I wasnt engaging in some type of online media. I was always on my phone: texting, calling, emailing, browsing. I guess ive never really been asked to think about my online use so it was almost quite confronting in a way.

What did I learn from authoring my posts?

When asked to look into my authoring of social media I realised I have a specific process I go through whenever it comes to sharing something online. Instagram for instance when I was posting on behalf of my ‘business page’ it was always about time (when you would get the most traffic so people see it), the way I edited and shared things to keep it as professional and aesthetically pleasing compared to say my personal use where I was posting photos that I liked and I didnt really care what people thought of them. Also the way I just scroll through my instagram feed. It really made me think about why I like the posts I do and why I follow the people I do. Is there an underlying reason why? Do I like things even though I dont really like the picture but just because they are my friends? In this day and age is that how we keep friendships through validations on social media?

what i disliked about the process?

The thing I dislike about the process was that i felt it got a little competitive because I was doing the same thing every day. Maybe I struggled as well as the way I blog I like to have a voice and I felt like it was a very monogamous topic to write about and I struggled to make it sound interesting in a blog post.

was it what you expected?

By becoming more aware of my online media use it made me uncomfortable and I need to start stepping away from the screen and i’ll probably start being more productive and have time for other things. I would almost like to do a counter investigation where I have to document the things i do on a daily basis without online media use and just see how my week would go.

What Issues did you encounter?

I found it harder to write about then I originally thought it would be mainly because Ive never really thought about the process of my online media engagement. I actually finished the week telling myself I should go on a social media cleanse because when I had to document my usage it almost made me uncomfortable how much its apart of my life.

From thinking about it like this I decided for the next 48 hours I would completely cut myself off of online media to compare the differences of my everyday life. I think I am going to struggle with this because after evaluating my use its so evident how much online media consumes my every day life. I think by completing this mini experiment however it would help give me something to compare my experiences too when i write my essay and also form an argument about how much online media is used in our every day lives today.

 

 

 

Evaluation

Leave a Reply

